A correction (and then some)

I misspoke earlier tonight, on Che-Che Lazaro’s show. While Inq7.net had some earlier problems with Google Adsense, I understand the matter has already been fixed; Adsense continues to run on Inq7.net. (Thanks for the "fraternal correction," JV.)

Speaking of the show, I cannot help but be impressed by the way professional broadcast journalists like Che-Che (the anchor), or Twink Macaraig (the EP), or Ces Drilon ("the hardest working journalist in the country," I said, when I met her in the same studio, to which she gamely answered, "No, I’m just over-exposed") make it all look easy. Midway through the show I wanted to bolt the room (and probably looked it).

A few loose ends continue to nag at my shoes, threaten to trip me up; allow me to straighten them out.

1. While a mass audience for blogs would be to die for, today’s still-small audience of blog readers is not exactly a poor substitute. There are, as I started to say but was not able to explain, two kinds of audiences: the critical few and the critical many. TV and radio own the second kind of audience; if Dr. Ronald Meinardus’s crystal-ball gazing proves accurate, podcast-receptive cellphones may enjoy the same kind of reach. But newspapers and blogs (the conjunction looks funny, unintentionally ironic, somehow) have a different — and not necessarily inferior — kind of audience. We should not only accept the fact; we should embrace it. (Besides, a universe of 4.8 million to 8 million PC users — or newspaper readers — is nothing to sneeze at.)

2. So-called traditional media is not unresponsive; the response time may be glacial, compared to the gee-whizzery of new media, but the response cycle does exist. Letters to the editor get written and are published; special concerns are brought to the attention of editors and publishers; criticism of editorial direction is heard and considered. I remember Chuck Mangione had a famous theme called "Give it all you’ve got." He also had a slower version of the same theme, which he called, "Give it all you’ve got, but slowly." So-called traditional media, it sometimes seems to me, has the second theme playing in the background.

3. Everybody is an expert on one’s own life, yes, but I shouldn’t have been narrow-focused. Everybody is an expert on one’s own community too, and we have some good examples among our blogs. Of those I read regularly, I can immediately think of Dominique Cimafranca’s ode to Dumaguete, in Village Idiot Savant, and Juned Sonido’s paean-in-many-parts to Cubao, in http://baratillo.net. When I spoke rather rashly of a "division of labor" between so-called traditional media and the blogs, this, in part, was what I meant.

4 Comments

Filed under Readings in Media

4 responses to “A correction (and then some)

  1. You looked very composed as if you’re a pro in TV guesting. It didn’t look like you wanted to leave. hehe. Maybe at the beginning of the show but I know how that feels. Cheche is one of the best TV host around. She does her own homework and doesn’t rely on researchers. Anyway, you had excellent answers to Cheche’s questions . All of you were great in fact.

  2. Thanks, Noemi. (BTW, your wonderful site is a real eye-opener.)

  3. Thanks for the mention, Jon. I’m very flattered. Other community blogs worth mentioning are (Iloilo) and Willy Priles’ (Naga).

    Too bad I missed the program. I hope I catch it on replay.

  4. I hope you recorded the program. Please keep it until I get there next year because this is definitely must-see TV for me. Unless you’re feeling particularly generous and can make me a copy. 🙂 Anyway, all I’m saying is I would have loved to have watched you real-time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

