Pacquiao 2:57

No, that’s not a reference to chapter 2, verse 57 of the gospel according to Manny Pacquiao. That, as  many who follow the new evangelist will tell us, is the time the third Pacquiao-Morales fight ended, in the third round. My apologies for pointing out the obvious, but I finally managed to watch the fight only a few minutes ago, courtesy of this site. (To be sure, I was able to watch the third round in its entirety yesterday, through the help of the ever-useful Filipino Librarian.)

Last week, I posted three pieces I did or prepared for the first Pacquiao-Morales fight in March 2005 — on the Wild Card gym, on "Buboy Roach," and on Freddie Roach’s philosophy of boxing. My friend Howie Severino was kind enough to take notice.

I missed something in my three color pieces, though: the soundtrack of Manny’s training camp. It was while preparing to fight Morales for the first time that Manny and his inner circle of friends and supporters decided to use Shakira, in particular the songs from "Laundry Service," as the music he would train to the sound of. "Underneath Your Clothes," in particular, sticks in my head; when I hear it, I am reminded, instantly, of those heady six days watching Manny spar and shadowbox in LA. I thought Manny had given up on Shakira after losing to Morales the first time around. But as this comment thread proves, the Shakira soundtrack, since updated, remains very much in use.

3 Comments

Filed under Spiral Notebook

3 responses to “Pacquiao 2:57

  1. Jeg

    Yeah. Fists Don’t Lie.

  2. always glad to be of help =)

  3. John:

    Just a little plug, if only to widen and spread around the fame and attention given to current hero, Manny Pacquiao.

    I’m sure many will be able to relate to this:

    http://tinyurl.com/76pp8

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

