“Overall confusion”

Malou Mangahas, who taught me everything I really needed to know in journalism, co-anchored the GMA election telecast in the wee hours of the morning today, together with Mareng Winnie and Jimmy “Ka Igme” Gil. Somewhat distracted by Winnie Monsod’s rather unexpected question, I had found myself floundering, giving an answer that woudn’t end. Good thing Malou ran in and threw me a lifeline. She asked me: What was today’s “defining moment?”

My reply: Abalos’s mid-morning interview, when the chairman of the Commission on Elections, the man in charge of the entire electoral system, said the elections (by then about three hours old) were marked by “overall confusion.” But not to worry, he said. Things will settle down in a couple of hours.

The culture of impunity meets the culture of mediocrity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Readings in Media, Readings in Politics

Leave a Reply

