“I never noticed I was crying …”

Personal commitments kept me away from the computer over the weekend, but I did have time to read Manolo Quezon’s necessary round-up of online posts about the Glorietta explosion. We can read them again here and here. I was most moved by angeliz105’s recollection, in part, perhaps, because I was reading it mere hours after the blast. There was the shock of immediacy.

I never noticed I was crying until two elderly chinese couple approached me and asked if I am okay. I was just telling them, ” No, look out there, there’s a dead woman…” I was ushered by the elderly man to sit on the hood of one of parked cars. I didn’t know how long I stayed there, coz the next moment, I am maneuvering my car out of the parking lot.

I was happy to note that Inquirer.net became the first news site to feature information from bloggers, including a photo on the front page. The Inquirer editorial on Monday also took note of the online outpouring.

PS. I had lunch that Friday about a block and a half from the blast site, with a good friend visiting from the States. I left the group early, because of a career talk I was scheduled to give in La Salle Taft; I was about to enter La Salle’s South gate when I received a message (time stamped 1:40, or some 10 minutes after the explosion) which read: “Just got word that a bomb exploded in Glorietta. Not sure about intensity and damage. Fyi.” I was immediately skeptical, but while waiting for my turn to speak, I got other calls too. It all made me think that the audience would be more restless than usual, but it didn’t turn out that way. Perhaps, in times like these, we become more attentive to the possible shape our future may take.

Leave a comment

Filed under Readings in Media, Readings in Politics

Leave a Reply

