That new GMA tagline

When it rains, it pours. Both the wifi (PLDT) and cable (Bayantel) are down, so I’m reduced to using my cellphone (Smart) to go online. I wanted to upload my column for tomorrow tonight, to allow me the chance ahead of time to explain why I decided to criticize the GMA network’s new sign-off signature–“Proud to be Kapuso”–but I can’t access my files. I guess I’ll have to wait till the connection’s back up.
But let me just say: I have many friends in GMA, but in writing the column I consulted none of them. My view, that the use of the tagline is unfortunate, because it blurs the line between journalism and marketing, is entirely my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Readings in Media

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s