(Formerly) No. 12

On the most helpful site JoseRizal.info (The Life and Writings of Dr. Jose Rizal), the letter marked as No. 12 in the anthology “Letters between Rizal and Family Members 1876-1896” is filed under the year 1882. This perpetuates the mistake in dating which–in all likelihood–Rizal himself made. As I sought to point out in this column, it should have been dated 1883.

It begins:

I received your letter of 23 December and I’m informed of its content. I thank you for your perseverance in writing me, but I wish you to know that I’ve already answered your two letters, which I appreciate very much. I guess you have not yet received my reply on account of the great distance separating us.
Leave a comment

Filed under Readings in Rizal, Spiral Notebook

Leave a Reply

